Will Young Announces his new album Crying on the Bathroom Floor

Crying on the Bathroom Floor is the title of Will Young‘s upcoming new album. He has also released the first single from it, Daniel.

“I’ve always enjoyed singing other people’s songs. There is a liberation to it. It’s how I feel when I approach a script. I have reverence for the piece of art and the artist who created it”, says Will Young of his new album, “After 18 years of recording and performing a lot of original material, I loved the idea of creating an album that celebrates some of the modern female artists I so admire in pop. In today’s times it’s so much easier and accepted to occupy other genders, ideas and explore new avenues. I wanted to understand what it might be like to sing their lyrics;  a song about a boy called Daniel; crying on the bathroom floor, feeling like Elizabeth Taylor. This is not a covers album as such, well certainly not in the standard way. I wanted to bring songs from female artists who I admire into a new arena. I wanted to work with Richard X again and create a true pop record.”

Crying on the Bathroom Floor follows Will’s 2019 #2 charting album Lexicon (also produced by Richard X), his 11 top ten singles, 4 number one singles and 7 top three albums, with 4 making it to number one. Crying On The Bathroom Floor will be released on Cooking Vinyl on August 6 on CD, LP, cassette and digitally with signed and exclusive bundles also available.

Daniel’, an interpretation of the Bat For Lashes classic is the first single to be heard from the brand new album which will also feature re-imagined versions of songs from the likes of Lykke Li, MUNA, Robyn, Solange, Sky Ferreira and more. The track comes accompanied by an official video directed by the renowned Andrew John “W.I.Z.” Whiston (Disclosure, Mika, Kings Of Leon).

Crying On The Bathroom Floor track listing:

1.   Daniel (original by  Bat For Lashes)

2.   Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by MUNA)

3.   Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam)

4.   Indestructible (original by Robyn)

5.   Strong (original by London Grammar)

6.   I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li)

7.   Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira)

8.  Losing You (original by Solange)

9.  Missing (original by Everything But The Girl)

10. Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)

An activist, author, singer, songwriter, Radio Presenter, DJ and performer, Will recently released To Be A Gay Man through Penguin Books; discussing gay shame, revealing the impact it had on his own life, how he learned to deal with it, and how he can now truthfully say he is gay and happy. The paperback version of the book is due to be released April 29.

Will has also announced an intimate tour to accompany Crying on the Bathroom Floor. performing several of the new tracks alongside classic songs acoustically and chatting with audiences across the country. Fans can pre-order the new album now for an exclusive ticket pre-sale next Weds 28 April.


2021 Tour dates:

Wednesday 1st September – Glee Club, Cardiff

Thursday 2nd September – St Luke’s, Glasgow

Sunday 5th September– City Varieties, Leeds 

Monday 6th September – Earth, London

Tuesday 7th September – Earth,  London

 Wednesday 8th September – Glee Club, Birmingham 

Are looking forward to listening to Will’s new album when it’s August 6, 2021 via Cooking Viny? let us know @TBHONEST_UK!

One comment

Comments are closed.